3December

It’s almost time for 3December! 3December, for those who don’t know, is a series of presentations by influential or successful members of the 3d graphics community. We (by “we” I mean RIT’s 3d graphics group) will be hosting Marty Havran and Joe Burrascano, each of whom will be be giving presentations about their careers, various techniques and workflows, and critiques of student-submitted work. The whole event should be a blast (at least, for graphics nerds like me!) and I advise anyone who can come to do so. Event information (and more!) is after the jump.

Blatant advertisements aside, I actually do have something to show here. I am a member of RIT’s SIGGRAPH chapter, called RITgraph. I am one of the group’s designated graphic designers and, as such, I created the event posters for 3December. It’s not very often that I use a mostly Photoshop-based workflow, nor do I often use a style that could remotely be considered “grunge,” and so I’m quite pleased with the results. The poster is quite large, being designed for 11″ x 17″ print (if you are unaware, 300 dpi is the standard for print media) but I think it looks best at high resolutions, as opposed to the smaller preview image below.

The presentations will take place on December 3rd (didn’t see that one coming, did ya!) from 1:00-5:00pm in RIT’s George Eastman Hall, room 2000. If you plan to attend, you can register here.

3December

Leave a Reply

