Web presence

I have always wanted to learn HTML and CSS, but never really had the time. At least, I thought I didn’t have the time. I guess I really overestimated the difficulty and complexity of doing so. A few days ago I started learning to build web pages using some online tutorials (and a bit of assistance from my web designer friends) and today I am happy to present to you my first website!

As an artist, it has always been stressed to me that I need a portfolio website. So, of course, as soon as I had enough knowledge to begin working I popped open Photoshop and began planning what I wanted to do. After multiple different designs revolving around things like bright gradients and pseudo-realistic ribbon elements, I eventually settled on a minimalist layout on a subtle “pinstriped suit” background. I’m pretty happy with the results so far.

I also learned to implement JavaScript carousels for the gallery page, although I don’t yet know how to write my own JavaScript. Anyway, the only thing I still need to do is move this blog onto the site’s blog page. I think I’m going to wait on that one until I get my own domain/hosting services (or, perhaps, my own server). You can check out the site, currently hosted in my CSH webspace, by clicking here. I now have my own domain and my site is hosted through a webhosting service. As promised, that also means I have implemented the javascript carousels (slideshows, apparently they’re called carousels in web-dev terms) into the gallery page. The new url is alexberkowitz.com

As this is my first website, I know there are bound to be issues. So if you find anything wrong, I urge you to let me know. Send me an email, leave a comment, or (if it works) use the contact form on the site.

Web presence

Leave a Reply

