So Much for Free Time

As you can imagine, I spend a lot of time working on this game project. After all, it is my thesis. So from now on I’m going to post a weekly breakdown of my time spent working on the project. My goal is at least 15 hours per week. Here’s this week’s breakdown:

8/31:

15:00 – 17:00 UV mapping

17:45 – 19:45 concept art

9/3:

18:00 – 1:30 UV mapping / normal mapping

9/5:

16:00 – 19:30 logo design / model / texture

9/6:

13:00 – 15:30 project meeting

16:00 – 18:00 UE4 texture exploration

 

Total hours spend this week: 17.5 hours. Perfect!

I’ve also worked out a schedule that I will attempt to follow as closely as possible over the course of this project and should give me plenty of time to not only get all of my work done but give me extra time to overcome any issues or to do extra detail work at the end:

schedule
There’s a typo here. “Weapons” should be “Weapons/Vehicles” as I am doing both in that time span.

As you can see, not only am I working on weapons but also a modular kit and a character as well. I’ve never worked on a character before, except for a little bit of sculpting and some 2D work, so this will be an interesting challenge for me. I’ve given myself 2 weeks each for modeling and texturing and I’ve also put the character first on my to-do list just in case I need extra time.

Aaron and I still have some breaking down of the weapons/vehicles assets to do, but here’s a tentative list of the assets I will be creating:

Weapons:

  • Radarts (radar tracking dart gun)
  • Larpoon (harpoon gun that fires laser emitters which, in turn, fire back towards the user)
  • MJ-BF (landmine launcher that teleports mines to the desired location)
  • 2-3 more weapons (probably the concussion shotgun and one other)

Vehicles:

  • 1-2 vehicles, to be determined

Character:

  • Most of the character work will involve modeling armor onto an existing mesh since our character will be in a full body suit. This is pretty much the only reason I feel comfortable taking on this role. Doing this work and all of the other stuff I have to work on wouldn’t be possible with an organic character.

Modular Kit:

  • 50% of the modular kit will be modeled by me, and I will also be creating all of the textures.

 

 

So Much for Free Time

Leave a Reply

